Heading Logo

The top runners from the 15-state Midwest Region

Published: December 1, 1997 12:00 AM

The top runners from the 15-state Midwest Region competed and the top eight earned invitations to the national meet, to be held in Florida on Dec. 13. Only 32 boys and girls from the entire country advance to the nationals.

Crestwood High School senior Nathan McClintock finished ninth out of 324 runners in the boys race, won by Jorge Torres of Wheeling, Ill. (15:45.99). His time of 15:59.67 was recorded despite muddy and slick conditions. McClintock finished 18 positions higher than Sean Kelly of Wickliffe, who edged McClintock in the Ohio state meet.

McClintock, the Portage County League champion, is the first alternate and will run in the national meet if any of the top eight runners are unable to compete.

[Article continues below]

Also in the boys race, Kent Roosevelt senior and Western Reserve Conference champion David Kelly finished 59th with a time of 16:47.

On the girls side, Kent Roosevelt senior Suzanne Kelly finished 97th out of 377 runners with a time of 20:36.62. Two Crestwood runners also competed, as Jennifer Schmidt placed 109th (20:44.85) and Melanie Ziarko finished 167th (21:34.32).

Cristin Wurth of Bloomington, Ill., won the girls race in 18:27.94, while Jennifer Wollam of Alliance finished second.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.